Why I created another File Transfer Platform "MiDrive"

Tobby

Local time
08:58

I am an independent filmmaker and one of my films had gotten into a film festival and the festival needed me to send a downloadable copy of my film. There was just a little problem. Even though my film file size was around 2G, internet is slow in this part of my world. Of Course I had no choice but I was wrong if this was my only problem. I immediately decided to use WeTransfer for obvious reasons. I uploaded my film ( if the film size was more than 2G, that would have been another problem because it meant I would have to upgrade to a paid plan to send my film), got the download link and emailed it to the festival.

9 days later, the festival reached out and said I have to resend the film as my download link had expired! The truth is that this is the 4th time this particular thing has happened to me and I just wondered what it would cost the known file transfer platforms to give a little more latitude on the basic subscriber. I decided to build a better alternative. And so the idea for MiDrive Transfer was born.

Less than a month later, MiDrive is live!!! Give it a spin and honestly tell me what you think about it. MiDrive Transfer

Last edited:
Upvote 2

Gummibeer

Astroneer
Local time
Pronouns
he/him

Hey,
cool idea - how do you monetize? I don't see any ad or anything. :/

The first thing that comes to my mind: "Send large files up to 100gb" via browser!? :o
I live in Germany and with 200mbps download and 50mbps upload I think that I belong to the faster part of the world!?
But even here an upload of 100GB would need more than 4hours in theory. In practice I need around 6-16hours to upload 100GB (depending on what I do in parallel). So keeping the browser open for this long, don't close the tab, prevent sleep mode and so on for this long is a challenging task.