Webdev Injuries

Webdev Injuries

Mike Rees

Local time
01:28

I've just got finished 7 hours of copying and pasting for some freelance work. I've managed to sustain 3 injuries in the process; a carpal tunnel flareup, damaged the ulnar nerve in my left arm again, and cut open my foot in a quite graphic manner I didn't notice for I'm guessing an hour and a half. You wouldn't think physical injuries to be all that common in a job where you're sat down, but I wish I could say this was the first time this kind of thing had happened to me and it's far from it.

Anyone else managed to hurt themselves when your job's moving fingers and impulsing neurons? If so, have you changed anything about your environment to minimise risk or prevent something from happening again?

xavier

Local time
20:28

I'm struggling with some tendonitis for years and I had some pains also in the past - I've been a developer for 13yrs
The answer here is an ergonomic position. Check out the web there is plenty of ressources out there.
For the carpian tunnel you should consider: lay down your keyboard if it's not already & throw your mouse away and use a trackball!

Adam

Mr. Webwide
Administrator
Local time
Pronouns
he/him

I have quite a bad wrist from a compound fracture a few years ago and got bad tendonitis from the muscles rubbing over all the metal and screws they put in it! Fortunately they've taken that out now. A good wrist rest helps but have been exploring some more ergonomic keyboards too. I know @sfcgeorge is pretty hot on keyboards and I saw @VickiLanger trying out a split keyboard some time ago. Interested to hear their thoughts on ergonomics!

Must say I've never sliced my foot open while using a computer though.

Last edited:

Mike Rees

Local time