Webwide is the inclusive forum community for web designers, developers & makers.

Whether you're an enthusiast, in training, or a seasoned pro – you'll fit right in at Webwide. We understand that our community is one of creation which is why we, unlike many other discussion forums, encourage sharing of your own projects and content. Creating a forum account is fast, easy and completely free so you can start participating right away.

Read our Code of Conduct

Free Forum Membership Benefits

• Participate in hundreds of interesting discussions
  • Network with industry peers and make new connections
  • Show off your own projects and relevant content
  • Get help and feedback for your coding and designs
  • Buy and sell services and resources in the marketplace
  • Participate in our friendly community challenges
  • Earn trophies and work your way up our leaderboards
  • Enjoy exclusive Webwide member discounts and offers
  • ...and so much more!

Tips for self-taught (uneducated) devs looking for salaried jobs?

ek1

Reaction score
Local Time
Today, 05:52
Website
erinknowles.com
Credits
Pronouns
She/her
I just finished my resume and I didn't even bother with an education section because all I have is 2/5 of an arts degree.

I had talked with admissions of a good school in my city last year about doing a CS degree there but the whole thing was so gross I couldn't go through with it. They're really just taking your money and your dreams and churning you out. It was when they insisted I wouldn't be able to complete the degree without at least 4 electives - electives I'd have to pay for - that I walked out.

But I'm realizing that if the hiring manager is only going to spend 30 seconds on your resume, having one line that 'proves' I know what I'm doing is a lot easier for them than going through my website and my github and my client testimonials etc.