How to deal with making mistakes

How to deal with making mistakes

Talia

Local time
13:13

A bit of background - my current job is a remote job, the second job I've ever had (the first was a pizza place employee), and is less than even a junior developer or designer. I occasionally get design and development (by development I mean CSS exclusively) projects, but a lot of my time is spent doing basic updates for WordPress sites, following procedures, and other low-skill tasks. (I will try to get a better job sooner rather than later, but for the purposes of this post that's a moot point.) I also do a currently very small amount of freelancing work on the side.

Because my day job is usually fairly easy in terms of the work itself (though not always, and it has its frustrations too), I feel like I don't make mistakes very often. But when I do, despite the fact that I'm not very emotionally invested in this job, the mistakes are usually small, and there are usually almost no repercussions, I may still get upset, sometimes very significantly. This is true for the small amount of side work I do too (and for non-work related things, for that matter).

I know that this is mostly because of my own mental health issues, which I'm getting professional help for. But I'm just wondering if anyone has suggestions for dealing with making mistakes, because this makes me worried about my future, since I know it will be hard for me to succeed in my career (or anything, really) if making even a completely inconsequential mistake messes me up so badly. If I can't even deal with small mistakes, how will I be able to deal with big ones?

avena

Local time
15:13

This may sound like a cliche, but I think making mistakes is part of our lives.

Try to not be too hard on yourself. Mistakes are experiences, and these experiences allow you to grow as a person and as a professional