DNS Woes

DNS Woes

Mike Rees

Local time
16:16

Hey guys, anyone know much about configuring DNS?

I have a circumstance where I need to point 10,000 domains with no A records all to the same IP address as a wildcard, the same server the nameservers are pointing to. I've tried using dnsmasq with configuration like address-/#/IP.IP.IP.IP with no joy, I tried something similar in BIND but I really am an absolute beginner on this stuff and just couldn't get it going.

Currently I'm using this and it seems to be doing the job but it does not feel appropriate for a production environment that people are paying to use! I mean what I want to do is really simple and it's exactly what that script is doing, so maybe it's good enough but I dunno. I feel like using a proper DNS server would make more sense but looking at it makes me feel 9 again looking at Speccy BASIC thinking wtf is going on.

Gummibeer

Astroneer
Local time
17:16
Pronouns
he/him

Hey,

at first I would recommend Cloudflare they also have an API.
But I have to say that I'm not really getting your exact expectations/use-case. Could you get into more detail what you are really trying to do?
Do you only want to "fake" the DNS record for your own server/requests? Or do you want to create a service that allows user to use their own domain?

Mike Rees

Local time

Basically I am working on a system that is a place for parking domains for drop catchers. So yea there are currently just over 10,000 domains pointed to the existing system, that we're gonna port over by changing the IP of the nameserver.