Development Beginner's experience with React - a shout for feedback

Ms-mousa

Local time
03:43

Hi there!
I'm a react beginner and not really sure if this is the right place to post a call for feedback. I want to share my experience writing my first web app with react. It's a weather App inspired by This Post by Hamed

You can find the app here : MiniWeather.ms-mousa.now.sh and the codebase here GitHub

A quick breakdown of the app:

First Screen can show weather in 4 locations with 4 cards that have different background colors based on the temp in that location.

On hover, the card pops up and a "MORE" link shows up:

Second screen shows the detailed forecast in the next 4 days in that location:

Before you read my next words, last time I did something for the web JQuery was the HOT THING! So kindly keep that in mind!

---

Things I need feedback on:

• Component structure!
I think I should have done one from the start. I eventually had to do that. But it was difficult to do at the beginning cus I kept adding new things to it slowly. And will still develop a third screen. Yet, I DID spend hours rethinking my app structure.
The current structure is like this:

[APP] -> [WeatherEngine (API Input)] -> [WeatherCard(More link)] -> [ForecastEngine] (API Input ] -> [ForecastCard]
My main question is what is the right way to decide what should be its own component and shouldn't be?
  • CSS-in-JS or not?
To start with, React components are not short! Like I needed to right many function to process the data from the APIs. Then I read about keeping the CSS inside JS and it would have made my components waaaaaay longer and less readable. What is the best practice for this? Keep it separate or include it in the component?
  • Is it normal to have to write that much code?