Absolute Beginner in JavaScript

Absolute Beginner in JavaScript

darylmalibiran

Local time
11:34

Hi,

I would like to learn JavaScript the right way (not sure if there's a wrong way ✌😅).

I'm in love with the websites since I was in College although this is totally not the course is all about. I am designing websites using Photoshop and Illustrator then, I'm building them using HTML and CSS only. I am currently creating websites using the said programs, WordPress and the help of page builder. Yes, I can achieve the clients' requirements for their websites but I know I am missing something. Some functions that should be done and I guess that's JavaScript should take the step.

I am currently studying the introduction of JavaScript.

What I'd like to asks are:

1. Am I reading the correct website to learn JS?
  2. Can you please give me beginner tips about JS?
  3. I see, there's a lot of frameworks out there. Which one do you recommend the most?
  4. Anything else to say will be appreciated. :)
Thanks in advanced!

nick

Gold Member
Local time
19:34
Pronouns
he/him

Congrats on making the first step!

1. I haven’t read that site so I can’t comment on it but I would start here on MDN.

2. The best way to learn is to try and complete a small task and learn the requirements along the way.

3. I recommend starting with jQuery. It’s so prevalent and there is a wealth of information available on the internet. The solution to most problems is Googleable.

4. Once you’ve gotten your feet wet, I recommend taking some computer science fundamentals courses online. Standford makes its Computer Science 101 course available for free.

Good luck!

Last edited:

tiborsaas

Local time
04:34

This is a great playlist:

We used this as a base material in a programming bootcamp where I taught JS.

Follow also MDN that Nick recommended, look up the concepts there too that you see in the playlist.

sri19

Local time